apscholarsThe College Board, a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity, recently announced thirteen Academy of Our Lady of Guam students earned AP Scholar Awards in 2015. The College Board AP Program offers several AP Scholar Awards to recognize high school students who have demonstrated college–level achievement through AP courses and exams. Students must receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams. Students who receive AP Scholar with Distinction Award receive and average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and must score 3 or higher on five of more of these exams. Pictured (L-R): Anna Katarina Aragon, Marie Bagana, Angela Dulay, Maya Nanpei, and Therese Nulud. Not shown are graduates from the Class of 2015: Anika Bushra, Grace Gonzaga, Natasha Hagans, Haani San Nicolas, Josefina Garcia, Lucy Ma, Janna Malig-on, and Elisa Rapadas. Garcia, Ma, Malig-on, and Rapadas earned AP Scholars with Distinction.

The Academy of Our Lady recently celebrated Mercy Day three-fold. The celebration began with a luncheon in honor of the Sisters of Mercy who currently serve the school and in remembrance of the ministry of the Sisters of Mercy in Catholic education. The entire school by mid-week paid tribute to the Sisters hard work and dedication at the Academy at a general assembly. After a short prayer service opening the Assembly, the many school organizations and different class groups presented the Sisters with personal gifts and treated them a dance performance—by both students and Sisters. The three-fold celebration then ended with a special Liturgy on September 24, 2015 celebrated by Father Tom McGrath. After the Mass, Analysa-Rhea Payumo and Alexandra Leon Guerrero were each presented with a Catherine McAuley Scholarship. This scholarship, named after the Foundress of the Sisters of Mercy, is given annually by the Sisters of Mercy through their sponsored ministry, Mercy Action Marianas, Ltd.. Thank you to the Sisters of Mercy who have truly made a difference in many lives with their loving ministry—the Academy legacy is forever grateful!

At the Mercy Day Liturgy held on September 24, 2015. The Sisters of Mercy renew their commitment by reciting the Act of Consecration to Our Lady of Mercy. Shown here (L-R) Srs. Marian Arroyo, Dorothy Lettiere, Francis Jerome Cruz, Angela Perez, Elizabeth Ann Uncangco, and Orlean Pereda.


Congratulations to the recipients of the Catherine McAuley Mercy Scholarship. Pictured front row (L-R ) Srs. Dorothy Lettiere, Orlean Pereda, Mrs. Doris LG Tolentino, Alexandra Leon Guerrero, Analysa-Rhea Payumo, Ms. Irene Maratita, Srs. Angela Perez, Marian Arroyo 2nd Row (L-R) Srs. Elizabeth Ann Uncangco, Francis Jerome Cruz, Mrs. Lillian and Mr. Felix Leon Guerrero, Mrs. Mary Meeks.
The Circle of Mercy is Timeless as the Academy students during assembly honor the Sisters of Mercy for their many years of ministry.

Two Academy of Our Lady of Guam students received top honors in the 2015 Guam Energy Office essay contest.   This year’s theme was Alternative Energy Consumption and Development—Finding a Balance .  Pictured from left: Second Place Winner Marie Bagana and Third Place Winner Jonae Sayama.  Their essays were chosen out of the essays written by students of Guam public, private and Catholic high schools.  Congratulations and Great job!


big facebook like2                        instagram follow 



AOLGlogo2015Academy of Our Lady of Guam
233 Archbishop Flores St, Hagatna,Guam  96910
Tel: (671) 477-8203 Fax: (671) 477-8555
Contact Us!


SistersofMercywasc and wcea